Yaris Success in Rally de Portugal

All three Yaris WRC post points on gruelling Rally de Portugal

All three Toyota Yaris WRC drivers came through their toughest test yet to post points-scoring results on Rally de Portugal, sixth round of the 2017 FIA World Rally Championship. Juho Hänninen was seventh, Jari-Matti Latvala ninth and Esapekka Lappi, making his debut with the Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team, finished tenth, also netting two points with the fourth fastest time in the event’s power stage.

The rally lived up to its reputation for rough, car-breaking conditions, with hotter than expected temperatures adding to the challenge. Latvala proved a notable casualty on Friday, the first full day of action. Holding second place and having led the field at one point, he rolled his Yaris WRC on the final stage of the day, losing more than four minutes on the leaders. He was able bring his car back safely for repairs during service ready for Saturday’s re-start in 13th place overall. Hänninen was seventh and Lappi eighth, despite being slowed by a blocked intercooler on the penultimate stage.

All three cars remained in contention on day two, and although Latvala had to battle the effects of a stomach upset – he had spent the night in hospital as a precaution – he continued to post top-three stage times. Hänninen’s progress was delayed when his car stopped briefly on one stage and Lappi survived damage to his car’s suspension and brakes after running wide on the loose surface through a bend.

The final day consisted of four stages run consecutively without service, including two passes on the famous Fafe stage with its spectacular jump. The Toyota drivers concentrated on bringing all three cars safely home to consolidate the team’s third spot in the manufacturers’ standings. Lappi’s driver points on the Power Stage were an unexpected bonus.The team now has a three-week break before heading to Sardinia for the Rally Italia Sardegna from 8-11 June. This is another tough challenge, with soft, sandy gravel stages and the expectation of high temperatures. Once again Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT will field three cars, for Latvala, Hänninen and Lappi

Provisional final result, Rally de Portugal:

1 Sebastien Ogier / Julien IngrassiaFord Fiesta WRC 3h 42m 55.7s
2 Thierry Neuville / Nicolas GilsoulHyundai i20 Coupe WRC + 15.6s
3 Dani Sordo / Marc MartiHyundai i20 Coupe WRC + 1m 01.7s
4 Ott Tanak / Martin JarveojaFord Fiesta WRC + 1m 30.2s
5 Craig Breen / Scott MartinCitroen C3 WRC + 1m 57.4s
6 Elfin Evans / Daniel Barritt Ford Fiesta WRC + 3m 10.6s
7Juho Hänninen / Kaj LindströmToyota Yaris WRC+ 3m 48.6s
8 Mads Ostberg / Ola FloeneFord Fiesta WRC + 5m 29.7s
9Jari-Matti Latvala / Miikka AnttilaFord Fiesta WRC + 5m 43.6s
10Esapekka Lappi / Janne FermToyota Yaris WRC+8m 13.3s