Five winning years for Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 

Five years ago, the adventure and success story in Formula E began for Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler.

On 15 May 2014, the Audi team received the first chassis, which was designated as number 20, to race in the fully electric racing series.

Since then and 54 races after, Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler has won 39 trophies – more than any other team – and has been the first squad to have broken the mark of 1,000 points, scoring an unbelievable total of 1,027 points.

The beginning

On a late afternoon in Donington on 15 May 2014, Formula E’S founder Alejandro Agag hosted a press conference with the ten team principals to mark the handover of the first chassis to the teams in the era of fully electric motorsport.

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler has always been involved in the series since the beginning: as a privateer team in the first three seasons and as an Audi factory team since the fourth season.

The first chassis handed over to Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler was designated as number 20, and has an eventful story.

With chassis 20, Lucas di Grassi crossed the finish line in Beijing in September 2014 as the winner of the first-ever Formula E race. Chassis 20 also sustained a few occasional ‘prangs’: in October 2016, di Grassi destroyed the entire left-hand side in a crash in Hong Kong, and repairs were also necessary after a wiring fire in Punta del Este in 2015. Chassis 20 celebrated its last victory in New York in July 2018 and was handed over to Alejandro Agag as a museum exhibit after the season.

Five years of wins

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler has been breaking records for the past five years, winning 39 trophies in 54 races. The team has also been the first squad to break the mark of 1,000 points, scoring a total of 1,027 points.

In the third season (2016/2017), Lucas di Grassi became Formula E champion for the first time after a third and a second place in the two previous seasons. In the fourth season (2017/2018), Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler celebrated the title in the teams’ classification.

With eight different winners in nine races, the title race in the current season is more open than ever before. The tenth round and 55th race in the history of Formula E will be held in Berlin on Saturday 25 May 2019.