Audi R10

Back in 2006, Audi AG wrote itself into the history books with victory at Le Mans. The Audi R10 TDI was the first diesel car to win one of the most difficult, demanding races in the world.

235,000 spectators looked on as Frank Beila and Marco Werner of Germany, along with Emanuele Pirro of Italy became victorious in their endeavour.

200 days prior to race day, the vehicle was released, but this proved to be enough time to form a reliable history maker, running for 24 hours, just as the R8 had done previously in its five Le Mans victories.

Audi won all races in that season in the LM P1 class of the American Le Mans Series, the first manufacturer ever to do so. With a total of seven outright wins and eight LM P1 class wins, the R8 and R10 TDI stole the show.

The next two years saw domination from Audi, taking the Le Mans title for three consecutive years until it was replaced by the R15 in 2009.

If you’d like to experience a taste of the history maker, visit your local Jardine Motors Audi to experience the range that’s fuelled with race-bred technology.

Enquire Now